Thanksgiving Day Parade

2020 Ameren Thanksgiving Day Parade

2020 has proven to be anything but a traditional year, but rest assured, our tradition of providing our region with the kickoff to the holiday season will continue!

Just in a slightly different fashion…

It is our desire to help keep all of our patrons and their families safe and happy as we face unprecedented challenges, challenges which prevent us from convening in person on Market Street on Thanksgiving Day, as we have for almost 40 years.

So, with the help of our sponsors and creative teams, we are working hard to bring a virtual parade to you, in the form of an hour long telecast on our sponsor station, KMOV, at 9:00 am on Thanksgiving Day.

But, we can’t do it without you! We hope you, your friends and families will join us virtually (even in your pajamas) as we Shine a Light on St. Louis attractions and important charitable efforts,, and bring you some of the traditional parade entertainment you have enjoyed with us over the years.

2020 Honorary Grand Marshals


Past Honorary Grand Marshals

Flint Fowler of Boys and Girls Clubsm (2019)
Dr. Frances Levine, President and CEO of the Missouri Historical Society. (2018)
Bobby Plager – St. Louis Blues (2017)
Michael M. Ward of the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial (2017)
Timothy Good of the Ulysses S. Grant National Historic Site (2017)
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Voss (2015)
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Voss (2014)
Mary Engelbreit (2013)
Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Jeffrey Bonner (2012)
Harlem Globetrotters, Girl Scouts of America and Vincent Bommarito (2011)
Ernie Hays (2010)
Mike Shannon, Boys Scouts of America (2009)
Major Robert Behnken, NASA (2008)
Marjorie Failoni, Disney’s High School Musical (2007)
Major General Jack Waggoner, US Army (2006)
Taylor Twellman, Nikko Smith, Nancy Kerrigan (2005)

2020 Marching Bands

As part of the annual Ameren Thanksgiving Day Parade, marching bands will be judged on music performance, marching and general effect.  Trophies for the top five bands will be awarded to the winners.  In addition, a trophy will be awarded to the Outstanding Percussion Section, Outstanding Drum Major and Outstanding Guard Unit. Come cheer them on!

Participating Bands in the 2020 Parade: TBD